artists artisans photographers original art

Go Back   Artspan Community > Artspan Site Information > Marketing Concerns - Alerts -Spam -Scam -Sales Offers
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:59 PM
derekjecxz derekjecxz is online now
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: PA / NYC
Posts: 13
Default Same old Scam, beware

If you receive anything like this...

Quote:
Good day to you.

I am so excited that I came across of your work on internet search,I am interested in purchasing these creative artworks from you.....................

Eternal Bird,Moon Shadow,Stone Barn,"Ancient Dock at Fortescue" - Fortescue, New Jersey and Ancient Wheel


Let me know their various prices.and how much discounts are you going to give?I will be happy to have these selected artworks hanged in our new home in South Africa. As well, I want you to take out the shipping cost.I have been in touch with a shipping firm that will be shipping other house decoratives.

We are traveling from our Dallas home to our new apartment as soon as possible.On Paying for the artworks,I will be glad to pay you with a Money Order or Cashier`s check in US funds that can be easily cashed at your local bank,please let me know on how to proceed for the payment of the creative artworks.

I will await your advise on how to proceed.Have a wonderful day.

Take care,
Joan Morgan

It's a scam. These come with different names Joan, Debra, John, Fred, whatever... it's all probably coming from Habib or Mustafa or Quamquat. Just be aware.

Kind regards,
Derek Jecxz
__________________
Derek Jecxz
http://www.jecxz.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2009, 12:16 PM
thistle_dew's Avatar
thistle_dew thistle_dew is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,693
Default

grrrr...
It makes me wonder if there isn't a place where these crapweasels just sit around all day copy and pasting this stuff into random emails.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2009, 04:39 PM
nighthawks nighthawks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jaipur, India
Posts: 54
Default

Thanks Dear.

I also got this email 2 days ago.
Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2009, 07:01 PM
jburnett's Avatar
jburnett jburnett is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Intermountain West, USA
Posts: 8,708
Default

I find it nervy that they ask for discounts on top of being, as Angela so wonderfully puts it, crapweasels.
__________________
Moderator

www.jessicavburnett.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2009, 11:59 PM
derekjecxz derekjecxz is online now
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: PA / NYC
Posts: 13
Default

"Crapweasels" - love it! Made me laugh, thanks.

Kind regards,
Derek
__________________
Derek Jecxz
http://www.jecxz.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2009, 08:41 PM
redolance6729's Avatar
redolance6729 redolance6729 is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjecxz
If you receive anything like this...



It's a scam. These come with different names Joan, Debra, John, Fred, whatever... it's all probably coming from Habib or Mustafa or Quamquat. Just be aware.

Kind regards,
Derek Jecxz
I once received an email from some lady from africa who stated she became wealthy because her husband was a spy and was rich and his money was left to her. She said she needed my bank account and I would receive some of the money. I was like, man, this sounds like probably a terrorist trying to hide their money in my bank account. either that or trying to clean my account out. Which it was empty anyways. I forwarded the email to america's most wanted, and they said it was a scam.
__________________
"Man roams about his life achieving nothing more than the grave, other than the mark he leaves on the next generation." - Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2009, 12:20 AM
buggsgonebanana buggsgonebanana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Default

I do believe that email has been sent to half the world in the past few years. It was about 4 years ago those started. I still to this day receive in my emails.
Reply With Quote
Our Sponsors










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 PM.