artists artisans photographers original art

Go Back   Artspan Community > Artspan Site Information > Marketing Concerns - Alerts -Spam -Scam -Sales Offers
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2009, 12:26 AM
buggsgonebanana buggsgonebanana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Default Scam...I think...thoughts?

This start off with "Dear"...and my name.
Not sure...spelling and grammar errors, however, is just inquiring about a picture, not an agent or rep, so who knows. My thoughts bring me back to the old "condition" thing...we are talking about a modern day photograph here, so why would it not be? That's my big clue? Also, the lowest price? Wouldn't it just be "the price?" Thoughts?


dickson bratt has sent you a message via your "Contact" form on your Artspan
website. You can respond to them by simply replying to this email. Their message is below.

Visitor Message:

People Pod
photography, May 2009
Price: Contact Artist

hello,
am Dickson i pass through your artsworks and was so lovelly i will like to know if the artswork
is in good condition, and give me the lowest price of the item. hoping to hear from you soon.
yours faithfully
Dickson Bratt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2009, 06:43 PM
thistle_dew's Avatar
thistle_dew thistle_dew is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,692
Default

I always say the best way around getting these types of emails is to set your price and enable your artspan shopping cart. Then if people are serious about buying it they can point, click and it's theirs.

I haven't had one of these types of inquiries since I enabled my shopping cart.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2009, 07:38 AM
Scout123's Avatar
Scout123 Scout123 is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,493
Default

It's like they are looking for a used car. I'm glad they are ignorant enough to make so many errors. They give themselves away. I wonder if this scam is still successful. Scout
__________________
Scout

www.ssbracken.com

"Always subject to change!"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2009, 02:44 PM
Beetp122's Avatar
Beetp122 Beetp122 is offline
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gaithersburg, Maryland
Posts: 821
Send a message via Yahoo to Beetp122
Default

SCAM!!....Every year about this time, these people do this....be careful!
__________________
http://www.btpoole.com
Reply With Quote
Our Sponsors










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:40 PM.